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1.	A lcohol
Alcohol and 
driving never mix

2.	S eat Belts
Seat belts are 
the single best 
prevention 
measure for 
driver safety and 
teen drivers are 
the least likely to 
use them

3.	Distractions
Especially other 
passengers in 
the car

www.adph.org/teendriving

please share this 
information with 
your friends who 
are just starting 

to drive. it may 
save them someday.

A 16-17 year old Alabama driver with a 
Graduated License may NOT:

1.	 Have more than ONE* non-family 
passengers other than the parent, 
guardian, or supervising licensed driver at 
least 21 years of age.

2.	 Operate a vehicle between 12:00 midnight 
and 6:00am, unless...
a.	 accompanied by a parent or legal 

guardian.
b.	 accompanied by a licensee 21 years of 

age or older with parental consent.
c.	 going to or from their place of work.
d.	 going to or from a school-sponsored 

event.
e.	 going to or from a religious-sponsored 

event.
f.	 driving due to a medical, fire, or law 

enforcement emergency.
g. driving to or from hunting/fishing 

activities in possession of required 
licenses.*

3.	 Drive while operating any non-essential 
handheld communication device.*

Violations will result in an extension of the 
graduated license period and/or suspension 
of the license.

* New restrictions added in 2010.

For more information, please visit
www.adph.org/teendriving. Alabama Child Death Review System



alcohol seat belts distractions
Facts and 

Other 
Factors

Alcohol and/or drugs negatively affect the 
safety and abilities of any driver.

Because of their age, teen drivers are 
more likely to be affected by alcohol and 
are the least experienced drivers on the 
road.

Understandably, alcohol poses an even 
greater risk to teen drivers (and their 
passengers) than to other drivers on the 
road.

Even if no crash, injury, or death 
occur, there are very serious criminal 
consequences for operating a vehicle 
under the influence of alcohol or drugs.

Alcohol and driving never mix... but that 
is especially  true for teen drivers.

To view or download a parent-teen driving 
contract and for other good information, 
please visit www.parentingteendrivers.com.

Always wearing a seat belt while driving 
or riding in a vehicle is the single best way 
to prevent vehicular injury and death and 
is very easy to do, yet many people still fail 
to do so.

Air bags and passive restraint systems 
have proven effective in reducing injury 
and death in certain types of crashes, but 
they are no substitute for seat belts and 
work best when used along with seat 
belts.

Teen drivers and passengers are less 
likely to wear seat belts than their adult 
counterparts, but more likely to be in a 
crash where they could prove useful.

Teen drivers possibly have the most to 
gain by wearing seat belts every time they 
drive or ride.

It’s also the law -- seat belts are required 
for drivers and most passengers in 
Alabama.

All drivers must deal with distractions 
while driving but, as the least experienced 
drivers on the road, teen drivers are at the 
greatest risk of having those distractions 
put them in danger.

Driving is an important and potentially 
dangerous activity that requires attention 
and focus from the driver at all times. 
 
Some common distractions that are 
known to cause or contribute to teen 
driver injuries and deaths include:

Passengers -- the likelihood of a 
crash goes up with each additional 
passenger in the vehicle 
 
Talking on cell phones and/or text 
messaging -- please pull off the road to 
talk or text 
 
Eating or drinking 
 
Adjusting the radio, CD player, 
temperature controls, etc. 
 
Listening to music too loudly or using 
headphones

A driver’s eyes, ears, and complete 
attention are required for safe driving!

The leading cause of death for people ages 
16-24 in the US is motor vehicle crashes -- 
almost half of all deaths by all causes.   
 
Each year approximately 450,000 teens 
are injured in vehicle crashes, 27,000 are 
hospitalized, and 5,500 die. 
 
Drivers age 16-19 are twice as likely to 
crash as those 20-24; three times as likely 
as those 25-29; and more than 4 times as 
likely as those 30-69.  Among those 16-19 
years old, the youngest drivers have the 
highest risk. 
 
In Alabama, vehicular deaths account 
for approximately half of all preventable 
deaths each year for those less than 18 
years of age. “Driver inexperience” is cited 
as the cause in approximately one-fourth 
of those deaths. 
 
In addition to the three primary factors 
already discussed in this brochure (alcohol, 
seat belts, and distractions), other factors 
which contribute to teen driver crashes, 
injuries, and fatalities include:

Driver inexperience -- this amplifies 
the effects of most other factors

Speeding 
 
Aggressive and/or reckless driving 
 
Nighttime driving 
 
Unlicensed and underage driving 
 
Unsafe vehicles/equipment

alabama is currently the
second worst state in the nation 

for teen driver fatalities


